Is It Illegal Not To Give Insurance Details After An Accident?

Being involved in an accident can be a stressful and confusing experience. In the midst of all the chaos, it’s important to remember that you have rights. One of your most important rights is to exchange insurance information with the other driver involved in the accident.

In Nevada, it is illegal to not give insurance details after an accident. Insurance is designed to protect you in the event of an accident. If the other driver does not have insurance, you could be left with the financial burden of repairs and medical bills.

Why is Insurance Important in Car Accidents

Car accidents can happen to anyone, and they can be costly. In addition to physical and emotional injuries, car accidents can result in significant financial losses. Medical bills, property damage, and lost wages can all add up quickly.

That’s why it’s important to have insurance. Car insurance can help you pay for the costs of a car accident, whether you’re at fault or not. If you don’t have car insurance, you may be responsible for paying for all of these costs out of your own pocket.

If you are involved in an accident, your insurance company will pay for the damages to your vehicle and any medical expenses you incur. This can be a lifesaver if you cannot work or pay your bills due to an accident.

Car insurance can even help protect drivers from legal liability. If you are found to be at fault in an accident, you could be sued by the other driver for their injuries and damages. Car insurance can help to cover the cost of these lawsuits, which can be very expensive.

Is Car insurance Required in Nevada?

Car insurance is required by law in most states, including Nevada. According to the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS 485.185), it is illegal to drive an uninsured vehicle. If a driver is caught operating a vehicle without insurance, they could face a fine and time in jail. Uninsured driving may also result in their driver’s license being suspended.

If an uninsured driver is involved in an accident resulting in injury or death, they could face up to $50,000 in fines and jail time. They also may be liable for additional legal damages.

In addition to the legal repercussions, not having car insurance can make it difficult to get a loan or rent an apartment. It can also make it harder to find a job.

If you’ve been injured by an uninsured driver, it’s important that you know your legal rights. There’s no reason to go through the legal process alone; contact an experienced personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. Cloward Trial Lawyers can help you understand options and will help you every step of the way to secure the compensation you’re entitled to.

Is it Illegal to Not Give Insurance Details After an Accident?

Yes. Under Nevada law (NRS 485.317), it is required by law to exchange insurance information with other parties involved in an accident. Failure to present insurance is illegal and can result in fines of up to $1000. These penalties can vary depending on the number of offenses and the length of time for which the insurance was not in effect.

Under Nevada law, drivers involved in a car accident must stop at the scene, exchange information with other parties involved, and report the accident to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles within ten days if the accident results in injury, death, or property damage exceeding $750. Failure to comply with these requirements can result in criminal charges and penalties.

What To Do if a Driver Does Not Give Their Insurance Details After an Accident

Being involved in a car accident is stressful enough, but it can be even more frustrating if the other driver refuses to share their insurance information. If this happens, there are a few things you can do to protect yourself throughout the process.

At the scene of the accident

    • Call the police. The police can file a report and help you get the other driver’s information.
    • Stay calm. It’s important to stay calm and collected after an accident, even if the other driver is being difficult. Getting upset will only make the situation worse.
    • Exchange information. Even if the other driver refuses to give you their insurance information, you should still exchange information with them, such as their name, address, and driver’s license number.
    • Get the other driver’s license plate number and the make and model of their vehicle. This information will be helpful if you need to track down the other driver later.
    • Take pictures of the accident scene.  It’s a good idea to take pictures of the accident scene, including the vehicle damage and any injuries. This will help you document the damage and show who was at fault in case there is a dispute later on.
  • Seek medical attention.  Whether you’re injured or not, seek medical attention immediately, as some injuries don’t present themselves immediately.

After the Accident

  • Hire a personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer will help you negotiate with the insurance companies and get the compensation you deserve.
  • Contact your insurance company. They can help you file a claim, get the other driver’s insurance information, and get your car repaired or replaced.
  • Get a copy of the police report. Once the police have completed their investigation, you should request a copy of the police report. This will be important documentation if you need to file a lawsuit later.
  • Keep track of all your expenses. This includes medical bills, car repairs, and lost wages.

Working with a Lawyer

A personal injury lawyer can help you understand your legal rights and options in the event of a car accident. You may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages. A lawyer can help you determine how much compensation you are entitled to and can help you negotiate with the other driver’s insurance company.

If the other driver refuses to give insurance details after an accident, a personal injury lawyer can help track down the driver and be there to represent you in negotiations with the other driver’s insurance company. The insurance company may try to lowball you or deny your claim altogether. A lawyer can help you fight for the compensation you deserve.

If the other driver is uninsured, a personal injury lawyer can help you file a claim with your own insurance company to help you recover some of your losses. They may also be able to get you compensation through government programs that provide benefits to people who have been injured in accidents by uninsured drivers.

If the insurance company refuses to negotiate in good faith or if they deny your claim, a car accident lawyer from Cloward Trial Lawyers can file a lawsuit on your behalf to get the compensation you deserve, even if the other driver is uninsured.

Benjamin P. Cloward

In 2016, at the age of 37, Benjamin P. Cloward became the youngest lawyer in the history of the State of Nevada to be awarded the prestigious “Trial Lawyer of the Year” by the Nevada Justice Association. That same year, he became the youngest member of the Nevada, Las Vegas Chapter of ABOTA (American Board of Trial Advocates), and at the time was also the youngest person in the State of Nevada to be Board Certified as a Personal Injury Specialist.

Practice areas: personal injury, car accidents, truck accidents, wrongful death, Greyhound bus accidents, and walk-in tub accidents.
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Request Free Consultation

Start your Free Case Evaluation by using the form below. You’ll get a fast response from one of our team members or call our office 1-888-888-8888.

Related Blog Posts

Explore Articles Related to Your Situation

Can You Leave the Scene of a Single-Car Accident?

Auto accidents are a top cause of accidental or unexpected death and injury in Nevada. In the last decade, the number of fatal crashes has risen in Nevada, and many more people suffer serious injuries in accidents... read more

The Penalty for Driving Without Insurance and a Registration in Nevada

Nevada's law requires that every driver carries a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage and properly registers their vehicles with the state. These requirements cost money, but they are critical to maintaining... read more

My Dog Was Hit by a Car – Who is Responsible?

Your four-legged friend is like family to you, so we understand how heartbreaking it can be when a dog is injured or killed in a car accident. If your dog has been hit by a car, you may wonder who is responsible f... read more

Request Free Consultation

Start your Free Case Evaluation by using the form below. You’ll get a fast response from one of our team members or call our office 702-605-5000.

Cloward Trial Lawyers
9950 W Cheyenne Ave Las Vegas, NV 89129

get direction